Public Holidays in Australia

Australia has national holidays and some states have their own public holidays. Please make sure you check any dates with your own states holidays before booking any accommodation or paying for airfares.


2017 Australian Public Holidays


Day Date Holiday Bolded dates are Australia wide national holidays.
Sunday January 01 New Years Day  
Monday January 02 New Years Holiday Public Holiday as News Years Day falls on a Sunday
Thursday January 26 Australia Day
Monday March 06 Labour Day WA only. 1st Monday in March.
Monday March 13 Adelaide Cup SA Only. 2nd Monday in March.
Monday March 13 Canberra Day  ACT Only. 2nd Monday in March.
Monday March 13 Labour Day VIC, TAS Only. 2nd Monday in March,
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Saturday April 15 Easter Saturday Public Holiday in all states exc. Tasmania and WA
Sunday April 16 Easter Sunday ACT, NSW Public Holiday
Monday April 17 Easter Monday Monday after Easter Sunday
Tuesday April 18 Easter Tuesday Tasmania. Government only
Tuesday April 25 ANZAC Day  
Monday May 01 Labour Day  QLD, NT Only. 1st Monday in May.
Sunday May 14 Mother’s Day Not a public holiday. 2nd Sunday in May. 
Monday June 05 Western Australia Day WA only. First Monday in June.
Monday June 12 Queens Birthday except QLD, WA. 2nd Monday in June.
Monday August 07 Picnic Day NT Only. 1st Monday in August.
Wednesday August 16 Ekka People’s Day Brisbane only. Royal Queensland Show.
Sunday September 03 Father’s Day Not a public holiday. 1st Sunday in September.
Monday September 25 Family & Community Day ACT Only. 1st Monday of 3rd term school holidays.
Monday September 25 Queens Birthday WA Only. Last Monday in Sep, or 1st Monday in Oct.
Monday October 02 Labour Day NSW/ACT/SA. 1st Monday in October.
Monday October 02 Queens Birthday QLD. 1st Monday in October.
Tuesday November 07 Melbourne Cup Day VIC Only . 1st Tuesday in November.
Monday December 25 Christmas Day
Tuesday December 26 Boxing Day Except South Australia
Tuesday December 26 Proclamation Day First working day after Christmas Day

2018 Australian Public Holidays

Date Day Holiday Bolded dates are national holidays.
1 Jan Monday New Year’s Day National
10 Jan Wednesday Devonport Cup TAS
26 Jan Friday Australia Day National
12 Feb Monday Royal Hobart Regatta TAS
28 Feb Wednesday Launceston Cup TAS
5 Mar Monday Labour Day WA
6 Mar Tuesday King Island Show TAS
12 Mar Monday Canberra Day ACT
12 Mar Monday March Public Holiday SA
12 Mar Monday Eight Hours Day TAS
12 Mar Monday Labour Day VIC
30 Mar Friday Good Friday National
31 Mar Saturday Day following Good Friday National except TAS & WA
1 Apr Monday Easter Sunday ACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
2 Apr Monday Easter Monday National
3 Apr Tuesday Easter Tuesday * TAS
25 Apr Wednesday Anzac Day National
4 May Friday AGFEST TAS
7 May Monday May Day NT
7 May Monday Labour Day QLD
28 May Monday Reconciliation Day ACT
4 Jun Monday Western Australia Day WA
11 Jun Monday Queen’s Birthday National except QLD & WA
29 Jun Friday Borroloola Show Day NT
6 Jul Friday Alice Springs Show Day NT
13 Jul Friday Tennant Creek Show Day NT
20 Jul Friday Katherine Show Day NT
27 Jul Friday Darwin Show Day NT
6 Aug Monday Picnic Day NT
15 Aug Wednesday Ekka Wednesday * QLD
24 Sep Monday Queen’s Birthday WA
1 Oct Monday Labour Day ACT, NSW & SA
1 Oct Monday Queen’s Birthday QLD
5 Oct Friday Burnie Show TAS
11 Oct Thursday Royal Launceston Show TAS
19 Oct Friday Flinders Island Show TAS
25 Oct Thursday Royal Hobart Show TAS
5 Nov Monday Recreation Day TAS
6 Nov Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day * VIC
30 Nov Friday Devonport Show TAS
24 Dec Monday Christmas Eve * SA
25 Dec Tuesday Christmas Day National
26 Dec Wednesday Boxing Day National except SA
26 Dec Wednesday Proclamation Day SA
31 Dec Monday New Year’s Eve * SA
error: Content is protected !!


Hatch a Holiday and be part of our Aussie adventures and discover interesting holiday ideas.
Solutions Indata © 2017. All Rights Reserved | Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Advertising